family

No H8

Fundamental rights may not be submitted to vote.

The other day, someone asked me if I was once a lesbian. (I wasn’t, but I wanted to be for cultural reasons). I sometimes think that I must have been gay in a past life, what with my obsession with the Indigo Girls (and formerly Bette Midler – the gay man stage of my adolescence), my deep love of sandals and flow-y dresses (sometimes without shaving my legs or underarms), my refusal to wear make up and dye my grey hair (grey is my favorite color). All of these are terribly superficial, and none would make me any more gay than  wearing a lab coat makes me a doctor or scientist. It is all a part of who I am, but my tastes in clothes or music do not define my sexuality.

So as a human being, I was very happy to read that Proposition 8 in California has been shown to violate the constitution. And as a human being, I was sad to read that Target has donated a large amount of money to an anti-equality political action committee.  Now I have to boycott Target. I love Target. But I love justice more.

2 thoughts on “No H8

  1. I just found your blog today, and I absolutely adore it. I find it very interesting and enjoyable to read. Your life sounds very interesting, and I look forward to reading more about it.
    In response to this post, I also have people question my sexuality. My favorite show is the L Word, a television program about a group of lesbian friends in LA, and my favorite singer, Chely Wright, recently came out of the closet.
    Thank you for posting that about Target. I now will also have to boycott them!
    Keep up the good work🙂

  2. Thanks, Laura!
    I’m pretty sad about the Target boycott. I keep wondering how many other big box stores and regular stores act politically in a way that is unacceptable to me.

Leave a Reply

