family / myself

With Love

A moment to remember my grandfather, Alexander Charles Haller. He and my grandmother Leah spent the last year and a half battling his cancer. He passed away last week and I just returned from his funeral and sitting with my grandmother for a few days.

He was a good man. I didn’t know him as deeply as I wish I did. I remember the way he said darling and rubbish and roof. I remember that one time I went to visit and he was in pain and couldn’t do as much with me as he would have liked, which gave him greater pain.

He and my grandmother were married 62 years. It is hard to fathom that length of time and what my grandmother faces now, living alone. She has to relearn how to take care of herself. She has spent the last year and a half taking care of him and doing for him – buying the cereal he likes, going out (or not going) when he wanted to or was able. She is lucky for the time, and lucky to have friends and family nearby.

This whole things reminds me, when I need reminding, to love deeply while I have the time.

Grandma, Vicki, Grandpa, from my wedding 12.25.08

3 thoughts on “With Love

  1. Beautiful, Vick. It is so very easy to get caught up in the problems of the world and the frustrations of the day and forget to love. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Pingback: My name is also Aidan | Forward Movement

  3. Pingback: Blessing | Forward Movement

Leave a Reply

