family / myself

Inspiration/Perspiration

Though I haven’t read his books (gasp!), I enjoy reading Seth Godin‘s blog.

This particular article (entry, update, post…) caught my fancy – it is about finding inspiration, something I feel I have been lacking lately. He is thinking about it in terms of business, I think, but inspiration is inspiration.

I think of the Picasso quote, I do not seek I find.

The main idea from the article:

The second method challenges the fear and announces that you’ve abandoned the resistance and instead prepared to ship. Your first idea might not be good, or even your second or your tenth, but once you dedicate yourself to this cycle, yes, in fact, you will ship and make a difference.

Simple example: start a blog and post once a day on how your favorite company can improve its products or its service. Do it every day for a month, one new, actionable idea each and every day. Within a few weeks, you’ll notice the change in the way you find, process and ship ideas.

So. Challenge the fear. Do, do, and do again. Every day.

I don’t know if I’m really ready to take that on. But if not now, when?

Leave a Reply

