family / myself

Pre-pubescent Puberty

I wish we would all just slow down a little.

I remember when I was a girl, my mom would say things like “you are growing up so fast.” As an adult, I feel like time moves differently. I can see how my step kids are maturing and changing, sometimes week to week, and certainly when we look over our photos from last year or even last spring. While I’m looking forward to Raspberry’s birth, I remember feeling, when I first found out I was pregnant) that it would take forever to get to January when he is due. Now it feels just around the corner.

BUT, some kids truly are growing up too fast. And it is scary. And it is, at least a little bit, our fault – fast food, plastics, hormone-ized milk and meat. I am very glad we buy local and natural food. As Michael Pollan, my food guru, would say, “Eat Food. Not too much. Mostly Plants.”

But do those tiny mellowcreme pumpkins count as plants? They do, right?

These are vegetables, right?

Leave a Reply

