arts in education / myself

Waiting

Sunday night we saw Waiting for Superman, a documentary about the school system in America. I’ve been thinking about it ever since, trying to figure out what I want to say and what I want to do.

Say: It is devastating and inspiring. I want to throw up my hands and weep. I want to go back to school, become a classroom teacher, eventually a principal, and change the world from the inside.

Do: Talk about it with everyone I can. The more people who are talking and thinking about the problems with the school system, perhaps the more change that will happen (very, very slowly like the Grand Canyon, I know). I will keep doing the work I am with arts-in-education and religious education. Both are outside of “regular school,” one during the school day (so revoluntionary!) and one on the weekends, one for a school with 85% free lunch, one for a school where parents are MDs and PhDs.

The most important thing I can do is to keep finding ways to share my own love of learning with kids. All of the kids I can.

 

One thought on “Waiting

Leave a Reply

