pregnant

Kashrut of Pregnancy

I stumbled upon an article about eating the placenta to improve lactation and prevent post-partum depression.

That’s right, I said it. Eating the placenta. Or as one article put it –  Afterbirth: It’s What’s for Dinner.

As disgusted as many of my friends are, I have been considering this. One friend, who will remain anonymous, wrote to me privately to say she did eat hers, a small piece each day. Her midwife proscribed it to prevent post-partum depression.

I’m a little concerned about post-partum depression, as winter has always been a more difficult time of year for me, and I will be much more isolated and less busy (and yet, way more busy) this winter than previous winters.

I also found a really great blog series about eating placenta from a Jewish perspective – is it Kosher? I do not keep Kosher, so it is a non-issue, but still interesting. Good cocktail party talk (should I ever go to a cocktail party…).

Breastmilk, it turns out, is pareve, which means it is food neutral, neither meat nor dairy. I guess we don’t have to worry about boiling a calf in its mother’s milk…But can you eat placenta with breastmilk?

Maybe I’ve gone too far…

Just in case I haven’t: there is a lovely image in one of the articles of the placenta being like a tree of life – the veins and umbilical cord look like branches and the trunk of a tree. And if the placenta gives life to the baby for 9 (long) months, why not give a little life to Mama too?

 

2 thoughts on “Kashrut of Pregnancy

  1. I’ve been so busy with ‘life’ that I haven’t been able to keep up with your blog. So I’m responding now while I have the time. Sorry if it’s too many comments. 🙂

    I, too, know someone who chose to eat her placenta as well. Rather than being for postpartum depression, it was for the nutrients that it is said to provide to the mother. I considered doing it myself. BUT, I unfortunately have a very weak stomach when it comes to these sorts of things and just could not bring myself to do it. I get pretty mentally wrapped up in what I’m ingesting and just couldn’t handle it. The thought of it made me gag and it was all over with from there. I will tell you though, I struggled immensely with postpartum depression and have often wondered if eating it might have helped me. I am a ridiculously happy person. My husband jokes that I crap out rainbows and glitter and sparkly things because I am always smiling…always singing…always giggly. And my home life and support were amazing after both boys were born. And still, I could not fight the depression. If you do decide to do it, I’d be curious whether or not you struggle. If you can stomach it, I say go for it.

    • There is no such thing as too many comments!

      There is a list of reasons why I want to go for the placenta, but for everything I read about the benefits, I read something else saying its hogwash. But I don’t think it can hurt, so…

Leave a Reply

