family / myself

Peeve

For fear that I’ve been too complain-y lately: a pet peeve.

Why is that kids don’t know what do with simple problems?

Two cases in point:

  1. When I’m teaching at a school and the kids have to write, every day, EVERY DAY, one of them sits there and does nothing. When I approach to help brainstorm, they say “my pencil broke, I can’t write.” When I ask them what they should do, usually they say “Sharpen it, but I don’t have a Sharpener.” And when I ask them what they should do about that, they either point to the classroom sharpener or a peer at their table passes one over with minimal drama. Did I really need to help solve that problem?
  2. Yesterday, Nathan and Zoë were playing upstairs with some friends. All of a sudden, I heard lots of laughing and “ew”-ing and Nathan came to me with huge globs of snot dripping from him nose (and a huge smile on his face). He said “I have some boogers” and I said “that’s right, what are you going to do about it?” and he stood there, smiling. I said “maybe you should gt a tissue” and he held out his hand. I sent him to the bathroom (perk of being a step-parent: unless they are really sick, I’m not wiping up snot. Especially while pregnant).

To honor Jerry Seinfeld, What’s the deal with these kids? Why can’t they figure out these very simple problems on his own. If your pencil breaks, sharpen it. If your nose explodes, wipe it.

I’m sure there is only more problem-solving insanity once Raspberry gets to the age where he should be able to solve his own problems. He’ll either be more clueless, or super-sassy and try to solve all my problems too.

I’m really just concerned about this generation of kids as they get older and have to deal with life on their own without someone telling them to sharpen their pencil.

2 thoughts on “Peeve

  1. One thing I have noticed with my boys (and myself) is that common sense (what we sometimes refer to as practical problem solving) and immense intelligence do NOT seem to go hand in hand. In fact, it seems that the more they have of one the less they have of the other. My youngest is quite possibly the most brilliant little boy I have ever encountered. Sit in a room with him for an hour and he will completely blow your mind. Give him an intense problem to solve that involves math or physics or a combination of the two, and he is SO on it. Give him a practical (common sense) problem to solve, and he will sit and stare at the wall for the next hour. We like to joke that the apple didn’t fall far from the tree because I, too, have zero common sense. In the same way, I know people who have all of the common sense in the world….but are not the tiniest bit book smart. In fact, they repel books. My oldest, however, has somehow lucked out and has this almost perfect blend of the two. Not too much of the nerdy intelligence or the common sense. Just a perfect combination. It’ll be interesting to see what your little one winds up with. I’m looking forward to reading all about it.

    • Agreed – common sense does not mean intelligent and vice versa. My husband is brilliant (if I do say so) and in many situations (dealing with maps and directions for example) he actually has GREAT common sense. But he can’t ever think to carry things upstairs as he is walking up otherwise empty handed. Something that seems so obvious to me!

      I guess that is why we marry and befriend the people we do – to fill our gaps and compliment our qualities.

Leave a Reply

