myself / pregnant

My name is also Aidan

David and I have spent lots of time talking about baby names. We both have high standards and strong beliefs about names, which is why we are calling our child “The Raspberry” (at least for now).

I was baby-product-surfing and came across this:

Aidan is THE name for a baby boy. I don’t know any Aidan’s my age, but I can think of at least 4 Aidan’s who are under 7 (2 on our block). Nathan, my step son’s name, is also popular (our neighbor is also named Nathan, but we call him Big Nathan to our Little Nathan. One of the carpenters working on our kitchen has come to be called (just in our family, to differentiate him from the others) Huge Nathan.). As is Zoë, my step daughter.

So coming into pregnancy, David and I both had strong ideas about how to choose a name:

  • The name could not start with a “G,” like Graham Graff or Gayle Graff. Sounds too much like a super-hero or comic book character (Lois Lane, Clark Kent).
  • The name could not be too popular. No Aidans in our family.
  • The name should be Jewish (which also leads to no Aidans). For both of us, this could be an Hebrew/Israeli name (Yael), a culturally Jewish but American name (Sheldon), or a Biblical or Historical Name (Akiva). This was particularly important to me, growing up as Vicki Haller, a not-at-all Jewish sounding name.
  • The name should not rhyme with or reference any private body part or sexual practice. Remember the Seinfeld when Jerry was dating a girl who’s name rhymed with some female body part. He couldn’t remember the name, so maybe it was Celeste…Mulva…Delores!
  • We both would like to honor someone in our family and/or someone who was important to us. In Judaism, you name a child for someone who has passed away. My Grandfather, Alexander, passed away this summer. We aren’t planning to name the baby Alexander, but the common practice is to take the first letter of his name (A) and choose a name from there.

I think we have chosen a name, but we aren’t talking about it publicly. We don’t want feedback on our choice. If the little Raspberry arrives and the name we have chosen doesn’t suit him, then we’ll keep thinking. He doesn’t officially need to be named until his Bris.

How popular is your name? Do you think it makes an impact on the person you have become? In the 80s (I was born in 1981), Vicki was the 750th most popular name. I think having a different (not unique, really, just different) name helped me differentiate myself from my peers and helped me become the person I am, one who wants to blend in, but not at the expense of myself.

4 thoughts on “My name is also Aidan

  1. HI Vicki!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. The worksheet I used for my birth plan can be found here (http://www.babycenter.com/calculators-birthplan). If you click on the highlighted “birth plan worksheet” a PDF will pop up that you can fill that out. My midwife suggested retyping it using bullet points and trying to condense it down to 1 page, that way it will be easy for hospital staff to read quickly.

    We are not telling anyone the names that we’ve picked out for our baby (we don’t know the sex). It took us a while to pick out first names but we mainly looked at current ranking ( I didn’t want a name in the top 100. Our boy names is in the 400’s!). It also had to have good nick-nameability (I’m a big nickname person) and if it had the letter X,Y, or Z in it it was a bonus. Nothing to frilly for a girl and nothing overly masculine for a boy. The middle name and last name are still being considered but it’s very important to me that my maiden name (I hyphenated my last name when we were married) be in there somewhere. More than likely that will be resolved at the last second!

    Wow, that was a long comment! Hope you have a good day!

    • Thanks!!!
      Naming is such a heavy task – I keep feeling like the baby should have some say in the matter, although I can’t figure out how that would work.
      I love your rules/standards for naming! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I don’t know why, but I am always shocked by your blog in that you seem to have very similar thoughts to my own on a lot of things. The name thing is a HUGE one. My husband and I not only think that the originality of a name plays a part in who you may become but that a name also carries certain traits along with it. We have discussed this in depth and, to this day, always compare traits of the same name friends we have. Every Michael we know, for example, carries the same personality trait (i’ll spare you the trait as I don’t want to offend anyone). The traits are dominant for some names and very mild for other names. Some other names we’ve really compared are Matt, Lisa, Melissa, Bob, Bill, and Christina to name a few. There are, of course, exceptions to every name. So, when we chose our boys’ names, we wanted them to be as unique as possible without going overboard and sounding crazy. And so, we came up with Valintino Kimani and Vega Lorenzo. I can’t even begin to explain the reaction that comes from people when they meet them and hear their names for the first time. The names have a tendency to just make people smile. They are memorable. And I 100% believe that this will help them in the future.

  3. Well, I’m a big fan of V names, so…but I love your kids’ names! They both made me smile and they are memorable.

    I have always looked for traits that same-named people shared…I wonder how that develops.

Leave a Reply

