myself

BFF

I just read an article that, with some alterations of name and location, I feel like I could have written.

It is called MWF seeks BFF. Girl moves to a new city for Boy. They Get Married. She feels like she has no friends there.

Sigh.

I so not mean this as offense to any people in Reading/Berks County who are my friends. I do have friends here. But not Friends. Not yet.

Without school or a full-time job, I’m not spending huge amounts of time with anyone. I don’t have a yoga community or a Jewish community here (yet, I’m working on it). Besides David, who I don’t count as a friend because he is the ultimate friend, my closest friend is around 60 and a man. And I love them both (in different ways, obviously) but still.

I need some ladies.

UPDATE: David said this post will offend my lower-case friends. That isn’t what I mean at all. I hope all of my friends become Friends. We just aren’t there yet. It takes time. And I’m shy.

2 thoughts on “BFF

  1. I completely relate to this. I didn’t move here because I met a boy, but I moved for a life changing thing. And now my whole life is that thing. Which I don’t think is necessarily a bad thing yet. But as he gets older I will obviously need to let go a little. And I do miss friends a lot. I have family who are also friends, but it’s not the same. I have made it a goal of mine to find friends in the next year or two. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

