myself / pregnant

2 questions

I’ve mentioned it before, but one of my favorite blogs is Motherlode, written by Lisa Belkin for the New York Times. She always posts good stories or provocations. A recent one was from a blog called 22 Words:

1. Would you want to be your child?
2. If not, how much of the reason why is you?

1. Yes. Most of the time.

2. In the times that I wouldn’t: Of course the reason is me. What else could it be? But why wouldn’t I want to be my own child, that’s really the question. I see with my step kids that I’m not always the way I want to be (who is, right?). With them, if David is also around, it is easy to excuse myself to take a break to get back to myself.

But it will be different with my own child. For the first few months of his life, I won’t really be working; we will be home together all day. I’m delighted, so looking forward to this time. But I’m also concerned; I know I will have to be on all the time for him. With very little back up.

And of course I plan to do everything right (or as right as I can be), but you know. That’s not actually possible. So we’ll do the best we can and I’ll hope that he likes being my child.

Leave a Reply

