family / myself

Xmas

Perhaps I am more conservative than I care to admit. I’m not a huge fan of the secularization of Christmas, and I’m Jewish. I don’t like decorating holidays, and I don’t like giving presents because I HAVE to.

David and I were having a conversation about this (his family, Jewish, always did Christmas as a time to get together and exchange gifts, even though they lit candles for Hanukah), and I pulled out “We need to put the Christ back in Christmas” and “Happy Holidays is what the Terrorists say” (which I stole from 30 Rock).

But my favorite Holiday is Yom Kippur (the Day of Atonement, of reflection, of fasting from the comforts of life).

But seriously, I prefer holidays with meaning. For me, decorating is not meaningful – it is a big mess.🙂

BUT, Christmas is my anniversary. David and I got married 2 years ago. Time has flown by, and we feel like we’ve known each other forever. So in that way, I like it.

2 thoughts on “Xmas

  1. Pingback: Santa | Forward Movement

  2. I agree, Christmas is too secular and too focused on decorations and presents. Yom Kippur is probably my favorite holiday as well – I love its simplicity and focus on self-reflection, and the feeling of atonement, cleansing your soul, and starting fresh.

Leave a Reply

