myself

Do

Sometimes I want to create a big to do list. It would have my personal life goals (sing onstage with the Indigo Girls, become an Iyengar yoga teacher), my current goals (write this play, find time to practice yoga well, make things), my immediate goals (prep all the cloth diapers, get or make curtains for the boys’ room, figure out how to get Abraham to sleep…).

I get overwhelmed by the repetition of what must be done each day: laundry, dishes, pick up toys. If I skip a day the next day is unpleasant.

I am working on becoming ore disciplined with the MUSTS so I can have more time for the WANTS. Waiting until the end of the night to clean up the kitchen rather than doing it all day. Waiting until the end of the night to deal with email and the internet rather than doing it all day (this is tough…).

I think a giant to do list would also overwhelm more than it would help. The upkeep…Sheesh, what am I thinking.

 

6 thoughts on “Do

  1. I used to be awesome at getting crud on my to-do list done. Not so much lately. Right now it seems like I am just trying to do what is absolutely necessary to keep the house going and take care of Ruby. Everything else is secondary..or tertiary.

  2. I find if I make a to do list, I remember to do the things I wanted to do. Like “hang laundry” or “shower” or “eat lunch” – otherwise I spend all day doing whatever pops into my head, which is usually just checking facebook and working on getting Abraham to sleep (because I’m so unfocused now I can’t think of anything else!).
    I once had a life list, but I think it needs significant revision. I want it to be realistic but still lofty.

  3. Oh my gosh, you should check out the 101 in 1001 challenge. I signed up for it a few months ago (http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/101-in-1001/) and this is one of the best things I’ve done for myself this year!

    On it, I put things I’m been procrastinating to get done, things I really wanted to start doing, and things that would be really cool to do. You have 1001 days to do it all so it’s not overwhelming and only you choose what to put on the list. I think we have 7 or 8 blogger challengers signed up so you would have a lot of support from all of us.

    Check it out and think about it. It really helps put things in focus.

Leave a Reply

