Uncategorized

Gratitude

I’ve been feeling…I’m not sure the word. Mentally floppy. All over the place. Spread unevenly. A little lost.

I’m trying to change my mental attitude. This is yoga: Vitarke Badhane Pratipaksha Bhavanam: When doubt arises, cultivate the opposite mental attitude. It’s been, for years, the yoga sutra that speaks to me the loudest. It works for more than doubt, of course.

I am grateful for all of my first world-liness. I do not have to worry that my children will die of starvation or diseases (actually, I do worry that my children will die of diseases, since so many people have stopped vaccinating their children, but that is a different conversation for a different day). I do not have to worry about freezing to death in the cold weather or even not being able to dress appropriately for the weather.

This doesn’t mean I am free from worries or concerns. It doesn’t take away my experience. But I want to work on cultivating a different mental attitude, especially since my basic and above basic needs are met. Instead of swimming around in the muck, I’d like to emerge from it onto the shore. It’s still there, but I don’t have to let it drown me, right?

So: 3 things I am grateful for.

  1. Yoga. I got to go to class with my teacher last week, and after a few poses she said, once my shoulders we back and my spine uplifted, “there’s the Vicki we know and love!” I was there all along, and I always am.
  2. Eating together. My growing up family and my married into family eats together. It’s nice to sit together regularly and talk about things large and small.
  3. Quiet. At the end of the day, everyone is asleep and it’s quiet for a little bit before I go to sleep. It reminds my mind to be quiet too.

What are you grateful for? How do you keep yourself from getting stuck in the complaints?

Leave a Reply

